You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: StitchWitch (Signed)
Apr 08, 2013 02:08 PM

Oh I stayed up all night to finish this! Well, finished it this morning but yeah. I loved it! So wonderful! I think you captured Severus' personality perfectly, the very best portrayal I think I've ever read!

-Stitchy



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you so much! That is beyond encouraging to hear; I'm so honored you liked my take on Severus as a father. :) Thanks for the lovely review!

Epilogue: Six Years Later
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 08:55 PM

This is goodbye. What a journey! Thanks to you I met the Snape girls, my favorite characters and got to experience Severus Snape from another angle. You given me food for thought, challenged and moved me. 

Elena



Author's Response:

I'm glad the Snape girls have become a favorite. They're very near and dear to me. And I'm glad to hear that ultimately UL moved and challenged you. Thanks for your feedback.

Epilogue: Six Years Later
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 08:13 PM

Each child brings something special to us parents. Hailey can read her dad so well and understands him as much as Hermione does. I could go on and on about all that stood out (for me) in this chapter but it will mean a long, badly written comment.



Author's Response:

Yes, she does. Hailey is the most stubborn of the girls - always wanting to get to the truth and to the bottom of things. Lily is content not knowing every detail about Severus's past, Surina is curious but prefers to see things in a certain context sometimes rather than face the truth, and Hailey is both the persuer and the truth seeker.

Chapter 58: Turning the Page
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 07:46 PM

He isn't going back to Hogwarts is he? I had forgotten about Lily and the horrible trauma she went through. Good thing she has parents who not only give her space but are willing to listen.

Chapter 57: Weighing the Pros and Cons
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 07:09 PM

Snape is a lucky man indeed! He's suffered enough.

Chapter 56: Markings and Destinies
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 06:52 AM

There are mistakes that damage friendships beyond repair. Ron and Hermione are guilty. Hermione, unlike Ron, is quick to accept her errors, like she just did. Always the generous person. Ron... too little too late. The Golden Trio are no more. 

Thank goodness Harry was there before Snape made the biggest mistake of his life. Killing Lucius, Avery or Mulciber would not have changed what they did to his famioly and would have given them the revenge these criminals wanted: Snape in Azkaban.



Author's Response:

Indeed, it would have.

Chapter 55: The Kiss of Revenge
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 05:56 AM

Justice has prevailed but just barely. There were hands raised to condemn Snape in spite of the evidence. It never ends, does it? 'An eye for an eye' is humanity's motto. 

Chapter 54: The Professor's Hearing - Part III
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Apr 01, 2013 05:33 AM

The atmosphere of the interrogation is well written. It is frustrating when lawyers from either side don't allow the witnesses to answer properly. Harry was just perfect and the poor girls musn't feel guilty at all.

Chapter 53: The Professor's Hearing - Part II
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 31, 2013 05:45 PM

Some reporters are like vultures and Rita Skeeter is one the best examples of what a vindictive, opportunist and misinformed so call journalist is like. The girls are going to go through another kind of hell.

Chapter 52: The Professor's Hearing - Part I
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 31, 2013 05:13 PM

I can't explain properly why but this chapter, especially the interaction between Snape and Hermine, moved me deeply. In fact I have had some humble pie served by Hermione and Snape. Won't bored you with my ramblings.

The part with Scorpius and Hailey was cute and made me crave for more about the Snape girls because I have the feeling that Scorpius is developing some feelings for her.

Hamilton is such a likeable character! He has saved Snape's life which isn't small feat.

Chapter 51: Never a Lost Hope
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 09:17 PM

Another emotional chapter. What parent would keep his or her composure in Snape's situation? Snape loves his children and leaving them would break his heart. Jeannie is such a wonderful, inquisitive and perceptive child! Hamilton to the rescue.



Author's Response:

In many ways this chapter was harder to write than Chapter 48, as time has passed and allowed Hailey to process the hard reality that her father is really dying and going to leave her. I wanted to really capture that emotional reality.

Chapter 50: A Father-Daughter Pledge
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 08:41 PM

Surina wasn't the only one surprised, I thought Scorpius had died. Harry impressed me. The Ministry and the school board are that stupid. Unbelievable!

Chapter 49: For the Care of Posterity
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 07:48 PM

As I read my eyes filled with tears. I felt as sorry for this Snape as I did with the Snape from the books. You are right, Nagini's bites, had Snape survived, would have had lasting effects. 



Author's Response:

I'm always surprised at how many AU, post-DH stories leave Snape perfectly fine, if not just emotionally damaged from what happened. That's a far tougher sell for me. I would think Nagini's bite, whether Muggle or wizard, would pose some physical limitations, if not only temporary. I can't see Snape walking away from that experience completely unscathed.

Chapter 48: The Next Great Adventure
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 07:08 PM

How did Lucius manage to avoid Azkaban? Hard to believe he has that much influence and yet he is free. The truth about Snape's disturbing behavior is next.



Author's Response:

Well, money has a lot of power. And if they have no proof yet aside from Hermione's and the girls' words against him, that isn't much to go on.

Chapter 47: On the Brink
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 06:36 PM

Thanks for sparing Lily and for not killing one of the Snape girls. What they all have gone through is more than enough and will take years to heal. Scorpius may have given his life to protect the Snapes. The innocent pays for the transgressions of others.

Chapter 46: Of Love and War - Part II
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 04:46 PM

Oh so close! Crap!

Chapter 45: Of Love and War - Part I
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 04:16 PM

There's no greater force than love. Snape should be dead by now and yet love for his family has given him strength. 

Chapter 44: Fight and Flight
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 02:52 PM

Scorpius became a Death Eater so that he could 'belong' no surprise there. I have asked some of my students whom belong to gangs what is the attraction and the answers are more or less the same as Scorpius. No rambling :), I'm sticking to the story. Would Surina forgive Scorpius? Once trust is breached it is hard to mend fences, but these girls are tough and have their mother as the best example of what compassion, generosity and bravery is all about. 



Author's Response:

True, they have a great example. I see all the girls as having developed much of Hermione's compassion, and in their individual ways.

Chapter 43: The Assault of Serpents
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 02:03 PM

The picture of Jeannie being tortured, bleeding is too powerful. Having the little one witness her father's own torture is going to traumatise her, in fact, all the girls, deeply. I was so sure Scorpious was part of the Lucius' group. He spew so much venom against Hailey it sounded like something Lucius would say. I hope I'm wrong about Scorpius.

Chapter 42: Trial and Error
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 01:41 PM

Another helpless sigh. So much hatred! Stupid me, I was hoping Jeannie would snap so hard that her out of control magic might help them escape. What kind of human being would harm a small innocent child? Nothing I can imagine comes close to what Snape and Hermione feel.

Chapter 41: The Beginning of Things
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 30, 2013 01:22 PM

An intense chapter. Voldemort is dead but not his ideas. Back to zero in the wizarding world.

Chapter 40: Taken
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 29, 2013 07:18 PM

A big fearful and stunned sigh has just left my mouth. I feel sorry for Viktor, what a horrible position to be in, damned if you do, damned if you don't. Kind of when Draco had to allow Death Eaters into Hogwarts and attempt to kill Dumbledore. For a minute there I thought Jeannie would have unleash some of her powerful magic. 

Chapter 39: Unwanted Intrusions
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 29, 2013 06:52 PM

I have no idea what happened twenty years ago other than Snape was sent to Azkaban and that Hermione was involved in his release but even that time in prison wasn't enough for whomever hates Snape so much he/they waited in the shadows until the right time to strike again. The poor man is dying and now this.

 



Author's Response:

There's a lot more of that in the Prequel, which is up and completed on FFN.

Chapter 38: Called Into Question
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 29, 2013 04:05 PM

The Ministry is being taken over by pure-blood supremacists again? How the deck did that happen? How did they keep it from the Minister? Racism and hatred are part and parcel of the human race and they never rest.

Must be hell for Hermione and Snape trying to keep calm. 

Jeannie is so cute and mischievous! I can tell Snape adores her.

Chapter 37: The Coming Storm
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 28, 2013 09:59 PM

The last part of the chapter was sweet.Lovely! Really Lovely! I'm a sucker for romance :) and now curious about how Hermione and Snape ended up together. 

As for the first part, Ron has hurt himself more than he hurt Hermione. Poor man living in the past, holding on to his hatred and resorting to insults, threats and an unwelcomed and disgusting kiss. Their friendship is all but gone, damage beyond repair. How does one stop loving someone whom will never return the feeling the way one wishes? Ron is doomed if he can't take Hermione out of his heart

Chapter 36: Aftermath and Reflection
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 28, 2013 08:19 PM

Oh, crap! Ron had to do it again, put the big foot on his in his mouth. Feel sorry for him and oh so angry at the same time. There is also pity. Ron's quick temper, his unwillingness to let go and his lack of self-esteem are a curse. What if he has made good on his threats?

I do hope Snape doesn't take his anger on Hermione.



Author's Response:

I can't imagine why Snape would. I would've thought I'd shown enough tenderness and love between them at this point that you wouldn't think him capable of harming her.

Chapter 35: A Changed Friendship
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 28, 2013 08:01 PM

I enjoyed reading about the Snape family as they decorated their Christmas tree. Like Hermione, I put on Christmas music as we put on the decorations. The interaction between Hermione and Snape warmed my heart. Snape tried very hard to hide the fact that he does enjoy Christmas but Hermione reads him very well. I would suggest to have colours not from Slytherin or Gryffindor. What about blue and silver? Pink and white? Then again, it might not be as much fun arguing about colours.

Couldn't Harry wait for the right time to talk about the manipulations going on at the Ministry? I think Lucius is behind some of it. Don't know how but Lucius is spewing way too much hatred in my opinion.



Author's Response:

Harry explained why the matter was dire and couldn't wait. He apologized for disrupting the Christmas party with it, too...

Chapter 34: The Snape Family Christmas
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 28, 2013 07:26 PM

Oh goodness! Lucius Malfoy hasn't changed for the better, not even a tiny bit. Disheartening that the lessons learned during and after the war were ignored by Lucius. I must say, you have portrayed Lucius very well, perfect, even his body language, the way you wrote it I could picture it so vividly! No idea how Snape kept his composure after the hatred and viciousness coming out of Lucius mouth.

I'd love to read stories about the Snape girls, they are becoming very dear to me. Read your comments to my reviews, thanks again for answering them. So Snape is really dying? I was hoping it wasn't so. If that's the case. Forget about Hogwarts and potion making. It might be best to go back home, to Hermione and spend whatever time he has left with his family. Unless, you have a surprise at the end, one can only hope. Or, Snape doesn't want to die without discovering who is behind the poisoning attacks.

Yes, this pairing is an acquired taste for readers like me whom have issues with age difference and have reservations not about Snape the heroe from the books but about Snape in fandom and Snape the professor. An acquired taste I'm trying very hard to overcome? (forgive me English being my second language means I might not express myself properly sometimes), hence some of my favourite fics in this site are Hermione/Snape or Hermione with older wizards. I'm forcing myself to read more about this pairing to get over my prejudices and to learn to be more open minded. 

Do my comments sound as if I'm tearing your story apart? I do question, praise, wonder, cheer, jeer the actions of the characters in any story and chances are I will be proven wrong which means I will admit my errors. You, the writer, have impressed me. It is obvious how much you love these characters, mostly Snape, Hermione and the girls. I'm getting sucked into their lives and the girls have conquered my heart. Hermione, my favourite character in the books and in fandom, has been relegeted to the background because I now care more about the four Snape girls. I may not end up loving Snape as much as a great number in fandom do but I'm trying to understand what you all see in him. No matter what you think I sound like, no matter that you are annoyed and shaking your head every time I write a review, I'm enjoying your story and I truly think you have a great talent. 

Elena

Chapter 33: An Unexpected Visitor
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 28, 2013 04:01 PM

I read the books but it doesn't mean I remember every detail. I don't bother reading J K's comments on the books either so my knowledge of canon is lacking. Were Lucius and Snape good friends? Snape having a close relationship with Lucius doesn't seem right. My perception of the two is that one had everything going for him: money, respect and confidence. Snape had a traumatic painful, upbringing, was poor and taunted by Gryffindor bullies and to make it worst, poor Snape fell in love with Lily and we how that turned out. I just can't picture Snape and Lucius together other than as minions of Voldemort (albeit close to Dark wizard) but that doesn't make them friends nor even allies, just part of the same repulsive group. 

Lucius isn't one of my favourite people in the books. Adjectives such as coward, bigot, opportunist and cruel come to mind. No redeeming qualities in my book. His wife on the other hand, redeemed herself a couple of times, specially when she lied to Voldemort.

I must have missed something again. I wasn't aware that Snape prepared potions for shops in Knockturn Alley. Was it agents from the Ministry who seized Snape's potions or were they pretending to work for the Ministry? Nothing pleases me more than when Hermione is taking matters in her own hands. About time she did. 

Having an uncle like George should be a lot of fun.

Elena



Author's Response:

To each his/her own. Obviously, I think they were considerably close at one time. Just because Severus was poor doesn't mean those in his House were privy to his background and his love for Lily (and if the Death Eaters had known about that, he'd never have been taken seriously within Voldemort's circle. In fact, he'd be dead.) Severus concealed every part of himself quite well in canon. I would imagine he'd be able to keep his background from Lucius as well. In my story, they have a history - both as Death Eaters but also at Hogwarts together. Even if it isn't canon, isn't that what fanfiction is about? Weaving your own story within an established world?

Sometimes I think you get hung up on details and like to rip every fabric of my story apart, Lol. Hence, why I may resort to silence.......................

Chapter 32: Too Much Curiosity
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 27, 2013 09:22 PM

Scorpius is acting just like Draco and like his father he has two bodyguards, sad that the new generation is repeating the sad history that caused so much pain. Stand to reason that having defeated Voldemort it did not mean racism and hatred were vanished. I can imagine resentment and thirst for revenge from either side are some of the effects of the war.

Elena

Chapter 31: The Malfoy Proclamation
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 27, 2013 08:52 PM

I understand about pride and wanting to provide for one's family but this is about extending Snape's time with his family. What is he trying to proof? 

Elena



Author's Response:

...But it isn't about extending his time, as he has said several times already that there isn't any more to be done. It's like a Muggle with terminal cancer.

Chapter 30: A Visit To St. Mungo's
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 24, 2013 01:00 PM

Snape has every right to defend his family. He doesn't need the Ministry's permission to do it. Being at Hogwarts would help, probably, but if he has to go and do it on his own so be it. Someone is after his daughters and will try to hurt Hermione, he can't be sure it won't happen to his wife.

I have the awful feeling that Krum is dead. He saw too much and whoever is behind the incident at the Quidditch match and the poisoned potion made sure Viktor doesn't talk. What if Lucius has something to do with these crimes? Scorpious knows about Snape's being a Death Eater, who told him? I doubt it was Draco. Questions and more questions. The plot is getting better and better.

Elena



Author's Response:

Thank you, glad you think so. Things won't start to unfurl until the later 30s chapters.

Chapter 29: Admonitions of Past and Present
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 24, 2013 12:35 PM

It is amazing to see a teacher at his best. I know Hailey is his daughter, that she enjoys potions very much and that because of these facts Snape's pleasure at teaching her is shown. A mistake turned into a lesson rather than the typical insult that would have come out of his mouth were it any other student. The Snape girls are lucky to see this side of the Potions professor. 

"I'm not, my dear. My father was a miserable, unhappy man. Anger and built-up emotions make unforgivable fools of men. I was his scapegoat when he could not handle the realities of his wretched existence. I suppose the apple doesn't fall far from the tree..." I believe the Snape in the books went through this a hundred times, mostly with Harry and to some extend Hermione. Harry reminded Snape of James Potter (a bully) and Hermione, a Muggle-born, was too eager to please and too ambitious for his liking. Snape couldn't help transfer the hatred he felt for James to Harry. And yet Snape's love for Lily surpassed those sentiments to the point of rejecting Voldemort. A tragic and heroic life indeed.

Abuse of any kind is abhorrent. It has lasting, damaging effects and I can't stand any adult who inflicts such pain in a child. Snape's father and mother are despicable criatures. I applaud Snape for sharing some of his past with Hailey. Knowing helps to understand, not to excuse what he did, but have a better picture of what made him the somber wizard that he is. You have added Nagini's poison to this which explains his outbursts. There must be a cure.

Elena

Chapter 28: Muggles and Mudbloods
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 24, 2013 11:34 AM

I had a senior moment and skipped this chapter. Dumb not to pay attention.

Snape is dying, isn't he? Gosh, men and their pride! In the end he is making Hermione suffer and probably shortening his time with his family. If I were Snape I will quit Hogwarts and work on potions. In that way he can stay close to his wife and small child, have time to rest often and allow the experts to find a cure for his ailment.

I thoroughly enjoyed the short flashback as Hermione recalled finding out about her last pregnancy. It was moving and tender. Draco knows the whole story or just enough?

Elena

Chapter 26: The Slytherin Godson
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 24, 2013 07:16 AM

I saw my huge comment to the last chapter. I kind of feel embarrassed that I wrote so much.

I love the Snape girls and I wish I could follow them as they grow older because there is so much potential for so many stories with them! Jeannie is a gifted prodigy. Goodness! Wandless magic and Legilimency in no time at all.

At last, Snape is going to take care of himself and see the specialist. Although cutting his workload would be a better choice. So Krum never contacted Hermione or the Headmistress. I'm concerned about it. Either he knows something or is involved somehow. This is getting better and better and yay for Jeannie!.

Elena

 



Author's Response:

I have a series of one-shots I've started about the Snape family that take place at various stages of the girls' lives, from their infancy to adulthood. If you wish to check it out, it's up on FFN. I may eventually add it here, but I haven't decided. There's also the Snape Tumblr as well: http://thesnapes.tumblr.com/

Chapter 27: The Child Prodigy
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 23, 2013 07:36 PM

Back again. So much to read so little time to indulge. I read your replies to my last two comments. Thank you for taking the time to respond. Not many authors do and it always impress me when it happens.

You pointed out that I rushed to conclussions and you're absolutely right. Not knowing the plot is only natural to make assumptions and believe me, I love to speculate only to be proven wrong, is part of the fun for me. See, you know the why, when, what and how in your story, I don't. Add to this that I am rather dense and miss subtleties and you have this reader speculating and rushing to conclussions. I did it with the books. When Snape killed Dumbledore my hatred for the poor man grew a hundred times. Imagine what I felt at the end of the books: awful and so guilty! In fact Dumbledore became one of my least favourite characters at the very end.

And yet, as far as Snape's dealings with Harry, Hermione and Neville, all Gryffindors by the way, I can't justified his actions. There isn't any excuse for transfering his hatred for James and all of Gryffindor to Harry and Hermione. It has been said to me that Snape had to behave that way toward Harry so as to not draw attention to the fact that Snape was a spy and that he was protecting Harry. Fair enough. I still think as far as the books are concerned, he might have been a brilliant potions master, a masterful spy, and heroe but as a teacher he took the joy of learning potions away from most of the kids. It was obvious he hated teaching and couldn't stand most of his students. Imagine living in fear of going to a particular class, dreading being asked a question, sitting at the very back in order to avoid eye contact or being noticed. It's an awful way to learn. In fact I can assure you one learns very little. One of the reasons I hated math and chemistry was because both of my teachers were mean spirited and cruel towards students who weren't as smart as they thought we all should be. I owe those two teachers the worse memories I have of high school and the fact that I'm awful in math and dreadful in chemistry.

One of the things that stuck in my mind is your reference to Snape's physical appearance. You made a very good point. Our picture of Snape is through Harry's eyes. Never thought of that, so thank you, it has helped me a little bit when I envision this character. A little because Snape has a permanent scowl, dresses in black and speaks as if he is bored, annoyed or just pissed at somebody. Most fanfic authors portray him as such. 

Oh my! This is one long comment. Pardon me, really. I should stick to what happens in the chapter. Bad habit of mine, going on and on. Back to the chapter then. Okay, so three Bludgers one of which came from the spectators and said Bludger belongs to Hogwarts. Hmmm, a professor took it? Could it be a student, why not? Krum was watching the game, and he wanted to see Hermione. My question is, is there more to Krum's visit? I like Hamilton Cosworth, he reminds me of Slughorn. Snape is sick because of Nagini. The poison affects him to the point that he loses control of his temper. Hear me out before you feel like punching me in the face and remember that I'm in the education and that I have no idea as to why things are happening in your story. Why is he allow to teach? Does the Headmistress knows of the rage incidents in the class? He is obviously very sick and deteriorating. Why is Snape taking so much extra work? At least Cosworth is going to try to help Snape. 

Answers to my questions are in the next chapters but it's late. One more thing, your writing is excellent, your new characters, mostly the four Snape girls and their classmates are so real to me. I can't deny that the pairing is a challenge for me but it doesn't mean I can't appreaciate the great quality of your story. Did I mention I have more Snape/Hermione stories as favourites in this site than I do in other sites? I promise not to babble so much. Until next time.

Elena



Author's Response:

Thank you. Glad you're enjoying it and like my writing. As a writer, that's encouraging to hear.

I admittedly find it odd though that you struggle with this pairing so much if you have more SSHG favorites than anything else..

 

 

 

 

Chapter 25: The Retired Potions Professor
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 05, 2013 05:03 PM

As a lousy, rather horrendous, chemistry student I admire and envy those who can brew, cook or mix ingredients with confidence and to love it! Can't relate. Snape is lucky his children know their way around a potions lab. Is it lab? 

As a parent I know exactly what's like to say no to a child, and when the negative is accompanied by 'for your own good' the results are exactly like Surina's reaction. Teenagers tend to think that everything and everyone is against them. Hermione is fortunate because Snape has to deal with his children on a daily basis while she does only for a few days (save for summer) or hours.

Hamilton Cosworth might be hiding or not around anymore. Or maybe I'm being paranoid.

Elena



Author's Response:

It's the Potions lab at Hogwarts, so all of the students should know their way around it fairly well. As for anything related to the Sciences (and Math!), I was horrible, so I can't relate to Hailey's and Severus's interest whatsoever, Lol.

Chapter 24: Growing Developments
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Mar 05, 2013 04:29 PM

I had to read a few previous chapters to remind myself where I stopped reading. It's been a long time. I know you don't care much for my comments, and that's fine. Your story is still engaging, well written, your characters believable and flawed like every human being and the plot interesting. There's also a few mysteries to solve such as the poisoned potion and the attack on the Snape girls during the Quidditch match. 

I won't censored myself. I won't flame or insult you either, but I will write my honest opinion.

'Mione' is a nickname I can't warm up to. Where did it come from?

Ron is so in character! Mind you, I think there's more to his resentment and clinging to the past than meets the eye. Something is up with Lavender and Ron and he is still in love with Hermione, I'm almost certain of it. 

Elena



Author's Response:

It's not that I "never cared for your comments." Quite the contrary, actually. I enjoy hearing differences of opinion and don't mind friendly debates with readers. This is a contraversial work (well, the beginnings of it certainly are), so I don't expect people to grasp what's going on right away, but I do hope they'll come at it with an open mind and allow the story to develop instead of rushing to conclusions. I'm not saying that's not what you were doing before, but, well, you did insinuate things happening in the story that weren't, in actuality, how they were happening at all. You also told me how you very much dislike Snape as a character and this pairing in general, so...

So, again, on the contrary, I'm happy to answer your questions and reply to your feedback. However, we may have to agree to disagree with certain aspects of this story...

'Mione has cropped up in virtually every SSHG fic I've read. It isn't canon, but I've read it so many times that it's taken the place of canon in my head, Lol.

 

Chapter 23: The Former Flame
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Jan 23, 2013 07:44 AM
Mmmm. Nothing like a good devouring. :-D So close to finding out what was going on, and yet so far!

You're a horrible tease, CRMediaGal.

Author's Response:

Ohhh, there wil be a lot more that develops. Things won't start to unravel until... Well, I won't say, haha! ;)

Chapter 20: An Act of Love
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Jan 23, 2013 07:26 AM
I had to go back and re-read this chapter; it's been too long! :-/ I'm sorry it's taken me such a long time to get back to this story! I'll be better this time, I promise!

Author's Response:

Lol, all right! Glad to hear from you again!

Chapter 19: Snape Reservations
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 16, 2012 12:27 PM

The air has been cleared, good!

Chapter 22: The Third Snape's Admission
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 16, 2012 11:38 AM

More deaths. How is this person able to poison at will? Scorpious is as annoying as his father was.

Chapter 21: Eye To Eye
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 16, 2012 11:13 AM

Just perfect. A couple who love each other coming together after a rough day. Nothing could be more simple and yet so meaningful.

Chapter 20: An Act of Love
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 16, 2012 10:49 AM

I forgot about the Bludger. A rogue Bludger and a tampered broom. Who would go to such extremes?

Chapter 19: Snape Reservations
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 16, 2012 10:29 AM

I can't imagine how hard it is to write what's happening in a game or battle. You did very well with the Quidditch match. Someone tampered with the girls brooms. Because of the game or is there another motive? 

Snape isn't getting any better. I won't speculate as to what is happening or why but he must realize that he needs help. First though, Snape has to lear to say no to all those who request potions from him. Why is he over extending himself?

Chapter 18: Slytherin vs Gryffindor
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 15, 2012 09:32 AM

Must be fun having Neville as the Head of Gryffindor. He is the unsung heroe of the war. Luna and Neville married, I'm smiling just thinking about it and Tessa is so much like her mother, is endearing.

Chapter 17: Inquiries and Accusations
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 15, 2012 09:18 AM

Nice chapter. I envy those who can understand chemistry and applied their knowledge. Potion making reminds me of chemistry.

Chapter 16: The Potions Assistant
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 15, 2012 05:48 AM

There is a mystery to be solved. A deranged witch or wizard (Muggle born perhaps?) is lurking around with murderous intentions.

Nice to see that the friendship between Harry and Hermione and to some extend Ron is still intact. Although something is up with Ron and Lavender.

I just checked my email I saw that you have answered some of my comments. From the tenor of your responses I gathered I have offended and annoyed you. It was never my intention and I apologize if that's the case. It won't happen again, I promise.

Elena

 

 



Author's Response:

You haven't annoyed me. However, you made it very clear in your very first review that you 1). Hate Snape and 2). Disapprove of SSHG as a pairing, which all but sets my story up for failure from the get-go, which is fine, it's not a pairing for everyone. But when I posed some food for thought about both in response, your follow-up review tread right over everything I said. Your subsequent reviews thereafter have been very...opinionated, to put it mildly. On the one hand, that's fine, but it makes it futile for me to argue with you or point out evidence to the contrary. Therefore, I've only felt compelled to point out instances where necessary where you have insinuated things that weren't true (i.e. Hermione not caring about her daughter's welfare, everyone dismissing Snape's behavior, etc.) When there's evidence to the contrary in the story itself, I may say something from now on, but otherwise, I'm just going to keep mum. It isn't like me to not respond to every review. However, I can't defend myself against someone who, from the very beginning, made it quite clear she isn't interested in hearing what I have to say to the contrary.

I personally don't think this story is for you if you dislike both Snape and SSHG, but you've chosen to keep reading, and I'll just have to hope that there's a very good reason in my favor for why you've done so..

Chapter 15: Marked Change
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 15, 2012 05:19 AM

The slower pace of this chapter, the lack of drama, allowed me to see Snape in a different light. He can be loving and understanding when he wants to and now that I'm pretty sure there is something wrong with him I agree with Lily, he has to tell Surina and Hailey the truth. Nice to him teach his daughter. 

Guilt came to mind too. Is Snape taking on more than he can handle because of guilt? Does he feel he has to atone for the sins of his past and that's the reason why he accepts all those demands of his expertise from the Ministry?

I get that Hermione sees in Snape what he can't because of his sad past. When I wrote about love being blind, it was to point out about loving somebody in spite of their shortcomings. Having been a wife I understand that completely but my children are what made me understand what true love means. 

Elena

 

Chapter 14: Lily Eileen Snape
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 15, 2012 04:46 AM

You know, I find the way you present upcoming conflicts or sub-plots smartly done. Not to mention the quality of the writing. 

Not a great fan of 'Mione' as a term of endearment but it is so popular in fandom I supposed most people like it.

It would be natural for Ron and Hermione to feel awkward around each other. They have a story, albeit small, but a history nonetheless. Hermione being one of my favourite characters in the series deserved someone better suited for her and in my opinion it wasn't Ron. Since J K focused so much on Harry, Ron and Hermione and very little in the other characters I can't say for sure who that man would be. The beauty of fandom is that the 'what ifs' are answered in varied ways. 

Ron's marital problems are going to cloud his judgment. I hope it doesn't and that Ron doesn't put Hermione in an undesirable position.

Chapter 13: Alterations
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 10:16 PM

My curiosity is ever growing. Hermione was a student when she fell in love with Snape and he with her, how did that happen? 

Nagini's venom is probably the cause of Snape's 'condition'. I'm speculating of course.

Chapter 12: A Never Forgotten Memory
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 09:41 PM

'Severus did not see what she saw in him, and she had contended with that reality for two decades' This sentence jumped at me. Love will do that, makes us see the object of our affection in a different light. I guess 'love is blind' is true after all. 

I want to feel differently about Snape.



Author's Response:

Actually, that's not what I was saying at all. But I don't really see the point in defending myself here either. It seems like an entirely moot point, so I will just sit back and let you think what you like.

Chapter 11: Suspicions
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 09:13 PM

If whatever ails Snape makes him draw a wand and point it at his daughter or force another to drink a possibly poisonous potion, is it wise to keep every one in the dark? What if he can control whatever it is he has and ends up hurting a student, including his daughters?

Again, as smart as Hermione is she is missing an important fact in my opinion: actions of an adult vs actions of a child. Expectations are different and since Hailey doesn't know what her parents are not willing to share with Hailey and her sisters, her reaction after what happened with her father is understandable.

Her father threatened her with his wand! She was scared, hurt. Hermione is right humans aren't perfect but we are talking about an 11 year old girl and a 60 year old man. Hermione should have some perspective here. She felt bad for showing the letter to her husband but not for what her daughter is going through. Is like in Hermione's eyes Hailey and Snape are at the same level.

Hailey doesn't hate her dad. I know children whose parents beat them and as angry as these kids are, they aren't able to hate the abusive parent. I guess this is the reason why Hailey's well being is what concerns me. I work around children of all ages and know first hand how sensitive and fragile they are. 

 



Author's Response:

Where does it say that Hermione completely dismisses Hailey's feelings? I could examples to the contrary, but there doesn't seem to any point. Oh, well.

Chapter 10: Confessions
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 08:37 PM

The little one is so cute! What is the issue with showing Snape the letter? Does Hermione think her daughter is lying? What's going on with Snape? Why is he having problems controlling his temper? Maybe I will get some answers in the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Of course she doesn't think that Hailey's lying. She's actually skeptical about her husband, which is made clear at the end of the chapter (as well as back in Chapter 5). I don't see things as so one-sided, however, and neither does she in this story.

Chapter 9: Returning Home
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 08:03 PM

 

Hailey is only 11 years old. She might be very smart and more mature than all the eleven years old I've met in all my years as a teacher's assistant, but she is a child and is hurting and doesn't understand why her father acts as if he doesn't like her one minute and then like someone who is contrite and caring the other. No one has validated her feelings, which she has every right to feel, if anything her feelings have been dismissed, and on top of this she is asked to take on the responsability of an assistant to a teacher.

If Snape is alone that's because of his own demons. He is an adult. Hailey is a child and she feels alone and guilty and I can't help but be angry at all the adults, including her mother and sisters for not 'listening' to her.

My sentiments about the characters and the plot don't take away the excellent quality of your writing. I feel like I'm reading the epilogue of the series that wasn't. Please forgive me if I have come on too strong in my comments. It is a bad habit of mine when I read amazing stories like yours. 

 

Chapter 8: Binding Together
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 06:26 PM

Isn't Hailey too young to be a Potions assistant? Out of all the student population, older and more experienced students, she is the best qualified for the job? Just wondering. 

Snape's breathing was laboured after climbing stairs. Is it old age or an illness?

Poor Hailey, feeling guilty for reacting out of fear and hurt. No one understands what is like for a child when she is treated as Hailey was by Snape. And then to have her dad's behaviour dismissed as it being part and parcel of what all Snape's children have to go through? 

Snape has to earn Hailey's trust but one minute he is a 'normal' parent and then he turns into his old loathsome self. Is like there are two Snapes.

Maybe Hailey and I will understand Snape better when she starts helping her dad. It could be the reason she accepted working for him.



Author's Response:

No, she isn't too young to be an assistant. Her father is a Potions Master, and, as pointed out in Chapter 4, she's always expressed a liking for Potions. She practiced quite a lot with Severus at home, so I would imagine her to be quite advanced for her age (and against her peers).

And his behavior isn't being dismissed. It's being questioned by everyone in this story, lol.

Chapter 7: Severus's Proposition
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 14, 2012 04:26 AM

"What did you do?" The Snape girls, including Hermione, are too quick to dismiss Snape's erratic and cruel behaviour. He pointed a 'weapon' at his daughter and this the response Hailey gets from her sister? What did you do? Is like a slap on the face, like saying Hailey deserved it. Surina is forced to drink a potion, a potion made by an inexperienced 'dunderhead' and she dismisses the incident as nothing and even said she deserved it! What the hell is going on!

 

"Mum didn't want me to. She thought it would frighten you. No kidding! I'm sorry, I can't find anything, so far, that would either justify Snape's horrible, abusive behaviour toward his students nor Hermione's lack of outrage about her husband's actions. No wonder Umbridge's use of torture wasn't challenged by parents or the Ministry.

I just can't find any excuses for the actions of all involved with the exclusion of Hailey. Hailey is a victim an eleven year old victim, no matter that she is witch, she is a child. 

Chapter 6: A Time For Talks
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 13, 2012 08:41 PM

Hermione has to admit that Snape isn't an easy person to like when he is teaching, even without the verbal abuse he subjects his students to he is so damaged no child can see past his sour disposition. I still don't see what being a teacher at his kids' school is such a big deal. Or why Snape and Hermione feel he has to belittle his children so harshly. Because Hermione is justifying his behaviour toward the students during her years at Hogwarts. Is like telling a child that it's okay if a teacher insults, intimidates or threatens you because you are going to 'learn' from the experience. I have seen what those kind of teachers accomplish and is not excellence but resentment, fear and lack of interest in the subject. 

On the other hand Surina was treated like a loved daughter which makes think that Snape is suffering from something. I thought Hermione hinted at some condition, not sure. Snape is sorry for what he did to Hailey but frankly she is just a child not an adult and his daughter which makes his horrible behaviour more painful.

Chapter 5: Growing Concerns
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 13, 2012 07:24 PM

Being that this is the wizarding world (J K's world) and it having a dismal track record as far as child protection is concerned, Snape's abusive treatment (remember Umbridge?) of his own child does not surprise me. Snape might not be an abusive father but he certainly behaved like one. He pointed the wand at his daughter, he overreacted because she giggled, giggled! Poor Hailey and good for Albus for overcoming his own fears and ask a very simple question. 

Elena

 



Author's Response:

Then again, he used to toss Harry and Ron around like frizbees in the books, but no one called him abusive then. *shrugs*

Chapter 4: Hate Is a Strong Word
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 13, 2012 06:53 PM

'What was so cheerful about having your father blatantly ignore you and not want to speak to you?' I have the same question. I work in the public school system and years ago was very much involved in my children's school. I didn't play favourites but I most certainly acknowledged them: a smile, a chat, a hug before going back to class. If Snape doesn't like children, why did have any or why is he teaching? He strikes me as someone who'd rather work in isolation so as not to suffer 'idiots' which frankly teenagers tend to be. He was forced to stay at Hogwarts before Voldemort's defeat and to continue teaching when it obviously irks him to no end makes me wonder. Lily resents the way her dad treated her during her first year and rightly so. To be around a person so blatantly unhappy can't be fun.

At least Hailey had a chance to talk to Neville and feel a little better. Poor kid! I'm finding the stories of Hailey and her sisters fascinating. It's like reading the sequel to books. Again your writing is wonderful.

Chapter 3: A Father's Dismissal
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 12, 2012 09:14 PM

So Snape is feeling his years and Hailey has noticed the he is actually old, hmmm. Or he is sick because of something else? Hermione made a comment about Nagini. Could it be that Nagini's venom is still in his system? Minerva thinks of Snape as a middle age man, but she is so old anyone in their sixties is middle age to her. I've been told that wizards age different than Muggles. That 60 in the wizarding world is more like 30 for us.  

You are going to roll you eyes and even think of a few choice words about what I'm going to write but here it goes. Putting aside the age issue; what is so attractive about a man who apparently can't smile to save his life, acts like everything and everyone around him annoys and even disgusts him, wears clothes as if he were a mortician and have greasy hair? And I'm not saying write Snape totally out of character but one would think that being married to someone like Hermione who is the opposite of him would lighten up his mood and give him reasons to be happy about his life. I guess beauty (external and internal) is in the eye of the beholder.

I have read only two chapters. Forgive me if my thoughts bother you. Enough about Snape. I love the pace of the story and enjoy your writing style very much. My heart was pounding as Hailey put the Sorting Hat on. Yes, Gryffindor! I wish her father had made her feel more comfortable. Hailey has a big heart, just like her mother. What's wrong with Surina? Does she feel lonely since she is the only one in Slytherin? Wish I had more time to read.

Elena

Chapter 2: A Daughter Is Sorted
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Dec 11, 2012 07:50 PM

This is one pairing I will always have a hard time accepting. The age difference is a problem since I have a daughter (25 years old) and thinking of her with a man twenty years her senior bothers me. Add to it Snape's appearance (greasy hair, hooked nose and pale as if he were a vampire not to mention that permanent scowl and constant brooding mood) and the possibility of embracing Hermione and Snape is close to nil. 

However, I do try to go out of my comfort zone so here I am. So far, I'm intrigued. Is Snape sick? Hermione has a big family, I approve. All girls? That's different. Ron is married to Lavender, why not? It is a long fic and time or lack of it gets in the way. I do promise to continue reading and reviewing. Hopefully I won't focus too much in age and physical appearance because the writing is impecable.

Elena



Author's Response:

Glad you're intrigued and willing to give the pairing a try! I personally love the pairing. They make sense in my eyes, but I think that comes to personal preferences/choice. The age factor doesn't bother me at all. I've dated a few much older men (I'm in my late twenties, so not much older than your daughter), as have friends I know, and if it works, then age really is just a number. In this story, they're both considerably older, so I think the age factor is even less fragmenting: Hermione's 38 and Snape's 58.

Also, about Snape's appearance: remember that we witnessed Snape mostly from Harry's perspective, starting as an eleven-year-old. Needless to say, I don't necessarily believe Snape to be as unsightly as Harry did. Unconventionally attractive? Yes. Intriguing? Hell yeah. Dark and brooding? For sure. But a vampire? Kids can be nasty and prone to exaggeration. I'll leave it at that. ;)

Hope you enjoy it!

 

Chapter 1: A New Term
Reviewer: SusanMarieR (Signed)
Nov 19, 2012 10:28 PM
Wonderful start. I'm surprised I hadn't read this before. Wish I could read more tonight, but I've a long and busy day tomorrow. Thank you for this, and im excited to have found another story to read. :)

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you're intrigued. ;)

Chapter 1: A New Term
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Nov 02, 2012 08:11 PM
Nice citrus. Perfect little pick me up before bedtime. :-) thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you, it's a chapter that still plagues me a bit. I'm not completely satisfied with it, but, considering this is a family-oriented story, I wanted to keep it as such.

Chapter 20: An Act of Love
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Nov 02, 2012 08:03 PM
Ughhh! So vague! I want to know what's going on, too! Something tells me Scorpius was not that far off the "mark," and Severus' old tattoo may have something to do with this!

Author's Response:

Interesting theories! Thanks! :)

Chapter 19: Snape Reservations
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Nov 02, 2012 07:53 PM
Goodness! And no Quirrel in sight! Mystery, mystery...

Author's Response:

Indeed. The plot thickens...

Chapter 18: Slytherin vs Gryffindor
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Nov 02, 2012 07:46 PM
Honestly, I hope Lily hands Scorpius his arse in the game. X-D

Author's Response:

HA! Wouldn't that be something. ;)

Chapter 17: Inquiries and Accusations
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Nov 02, 2012 07:30 PM
I'm so glad things are getting better! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back to this story! I enjoy it quite a bit!

Author's Response:

Glad to see you're still reading it! Thanks so much! :)

Chapter 16: The Potions Assistant
Reviewer: worrywart (Signed)
Oct 07, 2012 09:54 AM

I've been re-reading this story; sorry to take so long to review.  I remember waiting everyday for an email alert for this story when you posted it over on FF.  It is still just as compelling, especilaly this chappie.  THanks for posting it here!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Good to hear from you again. :) And I'm glad it's just as interesting the second time around.

Chapter 40: Taken
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 08:49 PM
The plot thickens... could Severus be the potioneer being framed I wonder? Interesting....

Author's Response:

And it will continue to thicken. ;)

Chapter 15: Marked Change
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 08:38 PM
I really enjoyed this POV. Lends some wonderful insight. :-)

Author's Response:

Lily Eileen's a lovely character, IMO, but she just doesn't seem to get the same sort of interest as the other girls. Glad you liked it! :)

Chapter 14: Lily Eileen Snape
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 08:16 PM
Ruh-roh. I smell trouble! You portrayed the awkward "ex" pause beautifully! Good job-- I've absolutely felt that before.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad you could feel that awkward tension between them.

Chapter 13: Alterations
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 07:21 PM
Okay now I'm dying to know the story behind how they got together. Great job! :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks! The Prequel is more than half-way through on FFN, and I plan to upload it here, too. :)

Chapter 12: A Never Forgotten Memory
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 06:12 PM
Poor Severus! ...I seem to ge saying that a awful lot...

Author's Response:

Poor Severus, indeed. :(

Chapter 11: Suspicions
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:48 PM
I'm glad she's calmed him and his soul down a bit. I'm really curious to know what's going on, though...

Author's Response:

Unfortunately, that answer won't come for a while, but there will be several other subplots that will soon start to emerge.

Chapter 10: Confessions
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:15 PM
Please tell me there's a fluffy happy ending, please? I really want a happy ending. :-)

Author's Response:

LOL, my lips are sealed! ;)

Chapter 9: Returning Home
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 06:03 AM
*whistles* lot of damage to undo. Enjoying the story--a bit angstier than I expected...

Author's Response:

Ohhh, it will get angstier yet!

Chapter 8: Binding Together
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:51 AM
Wonderful portrayal of their dynamic--love that it's not all roses, even with apology and peace offering. Good job!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I appreciate it!

Chapter 7: Severus's Proposition
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:42 AM
I'm so glad Surina decided to talk to her! Obviously things still need mending, and Severus needs to get his problem sorted, but Hailey needed that chat. :-) Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response:

Indeed, she did. Answers won't come for a while yet, but the conversation is a start. Thanks!

Chapter 6: A Time For Talks
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:32 AM
I hope someone talks to Hailey, soon, and explain that Dad might be having issues. Well done portraying a range of emotion in just a few chapters.

Author's Response:

Thank you!

Chapter 5: Growing Concerns
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:22 AM
Goodness! Something is clearly wrong. My first thought wasn't to grab a pitchfork but to get worried for him, and sad for both of them. This may or may not be an indication of how long I've been reading SSHG... X-D I hope the poor Snape family gets some answers!

Author's Response:

Haha, I'm glad that was your reaction, because it's normally mixed. Unfortunately, some people automatically assume he's being abusive and that nothing else is going wrong.

Chapter 4: Hate Is a Strong Word
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 06, 2012 05:13 AM
Doing a wonderful job of keeping him in character--he's still very much Severus Snape. Poor girl! I feel so bad for her!

Author's Response:

Thank you! You'll see some of that "character growth" as the story continues.

Chapter 3: A Father's Dismissal
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 05, 2012 09:39 PM
Okay. Now you have me super nervous about what's going on with Severus. :-( I hope he starts talking, soon...

Author's Response:

It will be some time before you find out what he's up to, but the answer will come, I promise.

Chapter 2: A Daughter Is Sorted
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Oct 05, 2012 09:35 PM
I'm excited to see more of this...I'll be going through it tomorrow; since you've uploaded the whole thing...but I like what I've read so far!

Author's Response:

Thank you! It's quite a long story, but I hope you enjoy it. :)

Chapter 1: A New Term
You must login (register) to review.
Back to Top