You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Oct 01, 2012 08:18 PM

Lovely! What you did with her parents was a compromise. J K made reversing their memories like it was nothing. In spite of the fact that the story is so short I didn't feel like I missed something or that it was rushed. I applaud your effort and of course, is in my favourites.

Elena



Author's Response:

I agree it seemed like JKR made memory reversal easy, but I don't think it would be.  I can see it being much more complicated.  I am so glad you liked the story and that you 'favorited' it!!  Knowing how you felt about the idea of SSHG, I consider that you did place it on your favorites an honor!

Worrywart

Chapter 8
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Oct 01, 2012 08:02 PM

I was hoping Hermione would restore the memories of her parents but it was not to be. 



Author's Response:

:( Yes, but it was worth it for the ending we came up with, we thought.

Chapter 7
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 30, 2012 06:44 PM

The comparison between his friendship with Lily and Hermione made me think about Snape's lack of true friendship growing up and the cruelty of some towards Snape. James and Sirius were bullies in my opinion. I don't care what Lupin said to Harry to justify his friends' actions. A bully is a bully.

I realised something else. By having Snape thinking about his feelings for Hermione you are making it easier for me to accept him as Hermione's mate. He has the same doubts I have. Not that I would jump from joy if my daughter brings home a man 20 years her senior but... if he loves her well. I'm off topic here. Great story!

Elena



Author's Response:

He really was so neglected as a child, more so than Harry, since no one compensated for Severus' younger years when he finally got to Hogwarts. And a bully is a bully, but refusing to allow them a second chance, makes us no better. Severus proves that by  being able to work with Remus.

And we did want to tiptoe into it, so I'm glad that's helping you.

Chapter 6
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 30, 2012 06:27 PM

My heart goes out to Hermione for all the pain and suffering she's gone through and to have in her arm a reminder of it!

She can't help but think of Snape's words. When one keeps thinking about a person or recollecting his words it's because he is becoming more than a friend. Snape is getting there faster than Hermione though.

You are handling not only their relationship with tact but getting her parents back without rushing it. 

Elena



Author's Response:

I love how JK made Hermione the representation for the survivors of concentration camps. JK has often said this paralleled WWII, and with a racial prejudice, insane overlord, manipulated youth, and carved arms to show for it, she did a pretty good job, I think.

I'm glad you thought we weer going slowly enough. We didn't want to just toss them into an immediate love, or even relationship.

Chapter 5
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 30, 2012 06:13 PM

Love how well you described the spell as well how to reverse their memories. Such imagination! Lavender died? I thought she was bitten but didn't die, I guess my memory betrays me. I'm reading the books again and this time in spanish. I'll refresh my memory once I get to DH.

Great job with their coming together. Solving a problem together and at the same time healing each other. Funny how Snape has the Dark Mark and Hermione has her own scar.

Elena

 



Author's Response:

Thank you! I had a lo of fun crafting some magic. And I don't believe she died in the novels, but we changed some things. The Slytherin dorms were left in tact, I believe, for example.

I always got it stuck in my head how Bellatrix had carved Hermione's left arm, where every death eater receives their mark.

Chapter 4
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 30, 2012 11:35 AM

“Bloody hell!” Borrowing Ron’s favourite curse,' Funny line, Ron would be so happy he is finally having some influence.

While I have misgivings about Hermione and Snape I also acknowledge the fact that a girl as smart as Hermione couldn't find her soulmate with someone her own age or a few years older. At home we're a bunch of Geeks, some more than others, my daughter and middle son are the truly enthusiasts in our family. My daughter complains constantly about the immaturity of men her age. Her best conversations have been with men five to ten years older than her. Hermione needs a man willing to challenge her, to make her grow as a person and who is not intimidated by her.

You might picture Snape different than the one portrayed in the HP books, I unfortunately remember vividly the descriptions in the books. I was hoping he might have discovered shampoo as opposed to vaseline in your fic and that black wasn't his colour of preference but maybe grey or blue. A few more chapters to go though.

'And since when did a wink last that long?  The boy looked like he was having some sort of seizure.' Another funny part :) This time I laughed out loud picturing Drake, 'Mr. Tiny Dick' making a fool of himself.

Hermione couldn't reverse their memories. I felt her sorrow. 

Elena



Author's Response:

He had to show up somehow. :)

Worrywart and I agree that Hermione is much more mature than her peers, even with a war which ages everyone further than they deserve.
I, personally, do imagine him sort of like the books, but I had some trouble with her descriptions. For example, Petunia is described only as a thin, horse-faced woman. Nothing else. JK tended to underplay her characters looks, although Snape did get much grief about his sallow skin, hooked nose, and greasy hair. I do see that in my head when I picture him, and not Alan Rickman, but it is not a displeasing picture in my mind, but then, I have always been odd.

Drake was our favorite quill-cushion while writing, I assure you.

I'm glad you were able to realte with her in that scene. Worry and I hashed out several different tangents we could have taken with her parents' memories, and we hope you will enjoy how it has turned out.

Thanks for reviewing!

Chapter 3
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 30, 2012 07:53 AM

I'm glad Hermione is going to attempt getting her parents back. J K said Hermione restored their memories. In fandom though, Hermione either accepts losing her parents or they get their memories back and are so angry at her they refuse to talk to her. I don't agree with it. As a parent myself I will never turn my back on my child. I'd be full of questions and very concerned about what my child gone through but never angry enough to refuse to be part of her life again.

Indeed Snape will be a great help once they talk. Might be sooner now that Hermione's mum is going to play match maker.

Elena 



Author's Response:

Whisper Gypsy and I went back and forth about Hermione's parents and what to do with them.  I like what we came up with!  And you're right, I would never turn my back on my son.  We've always told him we might be angry with some of his choices but we would never forsake him and always love him.

Chapter 2
Reviewer: eterna-romantica03 (Signed)
Sep 29, 2012 10:35 PM

I can't get the picture of Snape's greasy hair, crooked, yellowish teeth and huge nose out of my head. There is also the age difference: almost 20 years! Snape was born in 1960, Hermione in 1979. My daughter (25) with a 45 year old man...who looks like Snape no matter how smart he might be. Hard to accept it. I've had great difficulty with this pairing but, there are a few fics which have picked my interest. This is one of them. Very well written, interesting premise and a post-Hogwarts story with Hermione as one of the main characters. Shall continue reading.

Elena

 



Author's Response:

I think most of us who write SS/HG picture Snape more in the vein of the wonderful Alan Rickman as our Snape. I personally picture a very young Jeff Bridges..I found a pic of him shirtless with long hair and very young...yummy!  Regardless...I am glad you are finding some of the stories not quite so 'creepy' enough to read!!  I think you might find some of Aurette's stories to your liking.  She can be found on FF.net, (I've asked her to start posting here).  We chatted about the age difference before; I am not so fussed with it, but I respect your feelings about it. 

Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!!

Chapter 1
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Sep 20, 2012 10:09 PM

"he was banished from England for the rest of his life"

nuuuuuuuuu!!! Rita needs to get her arse kicked. It's not like she hasn't done some illegal activities. :-(

That said, Yay! What a wonderful story! Bravo. You guys worked so hard and produced something awesome!



Author's Response:

Rita has always deserved to be grilled and fed to a blast-ended skrewt. But thanks!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Sep 20, 2012 10:02 PM

*Happy smile.* I'm gonna be sad when this is over. Although...I am kind of hoping that they don't stay in Australia forever...



Author's Response:

I was sort of sad when it was over myself. And, you'll see....

Chapter 7
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Sep 20, 2012 09:20 PM

Hmmmm. Interesting. I love the idea of Drake (kudos to the author who came up with him). It will be even more interesting to see if the resemblence is more then what it appears to be...

:-)



Author's Response:

Drake was so much fun to write! And my favorite bits were all the naasty things Worry made Sev call him and do to him!

Chapter 5
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Sep 20, 2012 09:02 PM

I heart this story so much! I'm sorry it took me so long to get back and review it properly. :-) Absolutely adorable. I especially love Monica blithely saying "Oh, men like women with curves nowadays, right Stephen?"

How mortifying for the poor man. :-D



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it! No problem--we all have lives, and I can't review from my phone, which is how I'm often on here, so no worries!

Monica and Wendell were fun!

Chapter 2
Reviewer: TycheSong (Signed)
Sep 20, 2012 08:51 PM

Google knows all. This we all know. *nods solemnly *

Thank you so much for entering this! What a lovely beginning!



Author's Response:

Are you kidding? Google saved my butt in school! And is not only all-knowing, but is all-present. So long as there is internet, you have Google.

Thanks for reviewing, and thanks for the positive comments!

Chapter 1
Reviewer: Quilter (Signed)
Sep 04, 2012 07:46 AM

What an absolutely beautiful story. Well done team! A fitting and wonderful contribution to the challenge.

Kudos to all the team members and to the work done!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review! I cannot stop smiling, because I have never had a story be described as beautiful before. Worry and I had a blast getting our Sev and Mione on! Glad you enjoyed it. And AnneM's banner is the perfect cover!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 10:47 PM

Perfect well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm so glad you loved it!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 10:20 PM

woot , my favorite chapter.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing every chapter!

Chapter 7
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 09:32 PM

ty that tosser had to go. XD



Author's Response:

But we had so much fun with him!! Except the whole shark bit... *shudder*

Thanks for reviewing!

Chapter 6
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 09:08 PM

tsk tsk drakes got to go.



Author's Response:

Aw, but I was having fun torturing him.... Fine...

:)

Thanks for reviewing!

Chapter 5
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 08:37 PM

well this is promising XD



Author's Response:

Thanks! Hope it held up to it's promise for you!

Chapter 4
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 08:18 PM

aww it didnt work



Author's Response:

No, but we had such a hard time deciding if we were going to return their memories or not. I'm glad we decided to stick with this concept.

Chapter 3
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 08:02 PM

XD  most enjoyable



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you've enjoyed this!

Chapter 2
Reviewer: SusanMarieR (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 08:01 PM
this is wonderful, I laughed, I cried, I near about died. it is great. thank you

Author's Response:

Thanks for leaving a review! And I'm so glad you enjoyed this as much as I enjoyed writing it with Worry!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: Allyll (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 07:47 PM
Wonderful story! Is there maybe another chapter? Would love an epilogue for this!

Author's Response:

There isn't at the moment, but maybe one day. Thank you for reviewing and for being so excited about it that you asked for more!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: starcresentmoon (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 07:37 PM

very nice i like how we play connect the dots , how they finally run into each other, and the Banner is wonderful too that was well done.  And theres more to read, i am eager to continue. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! AnnM crafted a lovely banner! She is amazing! I'm glad you liked our plot intro.

Chapter 1
Reviewer: jamies_lady (Signed)
Sep 01, 2012 07:57 AM

the story says finished, and I loved every word... but I was left feeling that there should have been more.. don't ask me what, just something....

 

It was beautifully written and very enjoyable, cleverly woven and intriguing...



Author's Response:

I like the idea of one day coming back to this and continuing, so thanks for enjoying the story!

It makes me very happy that you found our story to be all those lovely things, and thanks so much for reviewing!

Chapter 8
Reviewer: stronghermione (Signed)
Aug 31, 2012 11:30 PM

Great start, and yes Google is correct in it's definition of 'bludger'.  It was integrated so seemlessly in the line, that as an Aussie, I didn't even take note until your explanation at the bottom.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the "bludger" bit. Worry came up with it, and had to point out to me that she wasn't talking Quidditch. :) Thanks for your review.

Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.
Back to Top